The Father Heart & Igloos.

This week our DTS team traveled 15 hours in ice and snow to Eyjólfsstaðir in the east of Iceland for a restful week of learning about the Father Heart of God.

The drive was beautiful:

The subject of the Father-heart is something that I’ve had a hard time comprehending with my heart…there’s always a blockage from my head to my heart. So before the week started I began believing lies that I wasn’t going to comprehend it. The first night at the guesthouse I had a really strange dream:

I was pregnant (only a few weeks) and I left working at the cafe to go to a doctor’s appointment. I was there to get an ultrasound but just after the nurse (who was faith) did the ultra sound she laid my son on the baby-table and my daughter just after. I argued with her that this could not be possible, it was too soon for me to have the babies. I was afraid that they were premature and were going to be sick. She left and I went out into the hospital halls to find another nurse I was racing around to find someone but it was like a ghost town. Finally I found an older lady that informed me that no one was on duty this late at night. Just then an middle-aged doctor walked up and agreed to come see my children…..there’s more but I’m not sure how significant it is.

The guest house we stayed in…

So I woke up stressed from the dream, not to mention that my stomach was already churning from the topic of the week. I was already to the point of tears because I was so afraid that this week would be the same as any other; that I would walk away with no further grasp of the father-heart. During class Gary (who was a good ‘ol southern man from Georgia with a strong southern draw) had us open up to Isaiah 66:

7 Before Zion was in labor, she gave birth;
before she was in pain, she delivered a boy.8 Who has heard of such a thing?
Who has seen such things?
Can a land be born in one day,
or a nation be delivered in an instant?
Yet as soon as Zion was in labor,
she gave birth to her sons.

9 “Will I bring a baby to the point of birth
and not deliver it?”
says the LORD;
“or will I who deliver, close the womb?”
says your God.

10 Be glad for Jerusalem and rejoice over her,
all who love her.
Rejoice greatly with her,
all who mourn over her—

11 so that you may nurse and be satisfied
from her comforting breast
and drink deeply and delight yourselves
from her glorious breasts.

12 For this is what the LORD says:
I will make peace flow to her like a river,
and the wealth of nations like a flood;
you will nurse and be carried on her hip,
and bounced on her lap.

13 As a mother comforts her son,
so I will comfort you,
and you will be comforted in Jerusalem.

14 You will see, you will rejoice,
and you  will flourish like grass;
then the LORD’s power will be revealed to His servants,
but He will show His wrath against His enemies.

This was my dream! What I felt the Lord was saying was–“Will I bring a baby to the point of birth and not deliver it?” —-reffering to the Father-Heart, is he going to bring me to a place and not follow through to reveal his heart for me. Even referring to finances: Is he going to bring me to Iceland and then not deliver the rest for outreach?

The DTS team with Gary in the middle!

This was so refreshing for me! And came to be true by the end of the week. I felt I received such breakthrough in the areas of being able to forgive (even myself) and just a fresh and deeper revelation of the Father. I was reminded at the end of the week of the verse just after–“or will I who deliver, close the womb?”—-as to say that I am not going to receive this revelation and then that be the end. This is just the tip of the iceberg, there will be more births of revelation! Takk Jesús!

The last night we were there we were all invited over to Bjartur (I’m not sure that’s spelled right) and his wife’s house for yummy pancake goodness:

After pancakes the igloo was finished and we had an amazing prayer meeting inside:

The drive home was just a continuation of the Lord lavishing us with his beauty! Every stop we made from the glacier to the ocean to just driving though the mountains—we were all just in awe. I couldn’t even count the number of times someone said “this is the most beautiful thing I’ve ever seen!”

If reindeer and mountains weren’t enough as we got back into town we saw the northern lights! Oh it was so beautiful. After unpacking the van we drove back out of the city a bit to see more of the northern lights and were so blessed, not only getting the see the northern lights but the stars!! We all laid on the ground –all bundled up just starting at the sky. So wonderful!

You can see more photos from the trip here.

One thought on “The Father Heart & Igloos.

So....What did you think?

